Thursday, February 28, 2013

scattered

scattered in the wake
of a mallard
the whole damn mountain


.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

tree-lined road

tree-lined road
the accelerated turn
to gold

(Referencing the colors of fall - yes, wrong season, but one of my more favorite haiku - Published in the November, 2009 issue of  Notes from the Gean

--

a snow goose
cups its wings to land
curve of the shore

Published in The Heron's Nest XII:2 (2010)



.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Monday, February 25, 2013

Saturday, February 23, 2013

weight of this sky

my brother's grave –
weight
of this sky


.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

snow - crow

Today we received another six inches of snow - and just about the time I was thinking spring could not be THAT far around the corner (sure, another few months, but . . .). So, instead of getting back out into my unheated studio, I'm confined to the big picture window that looks out upon the studio - and all the new snow (I am still in a wheelchair except when the snow's gone and I can use my power scooter). It's quiet, at least that much is good, except for the cawing of crows, which is also good:


another layer
of snow
cawing of a crow

I realize there's some rhyming - snow and crow - but I kind of like that, as well as the high contrast between the white of the snow and the black of the crow, and the silence of snow and the raucous cawing. Does it work?

Thanks - Warren

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

sad turn


road to our old house
the sad turn from love
to memories

(Remake of an earlier haiku, and hopefully an improvement)

--

she remains silent,
as do I —
outside, the wind



.

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Monday, February 4, 2013

old wounds

divorce papers
the stray dog
scratches old wounds

(Thinking back many, many years)


Friday, February 1, 2013

sliding into sleep

sliding into sleep the memories just before

--

my photo
as a child
the years between

--

visit with mom
clearing my neglect
from her gravestone


.